What is ISO 45001 Safety Certification?

ISO 45001 was published in 2018 to provide a robust and effective set of processes for improving work safety. Designed to help organisations of all sizes and industries, the new International Standard is expected to reduce workplace injuries and illnesses on a global scale.

This revision of the safety standard aims to do is to draw the safety management system closer to an organisations core operational processes. By further integrating the safety system to the organisations core activities ISO45001 aims to establish a strong safety culture. The newer version of the safety standard also asks for leadership from management across all levels and pushes consultation with those affected by the systems including employees and contractors as well.

As ISO45001 is superseding OHSAS 18001 if your business is currently certified to OHSAS 18001 you will need to transition your certification to the new standard. The good news here is ISO45001 shares a majority of it’s framework with both AS/NZS4801 and OHSAS18001 so if your business is certified to or familiar with either of these standards the transition will be smoother. The new standard also follows the same Annex SL structure as the ISO9001:2015 and ISO14001:2015 revisions for ease of integration with your existing systems.

The new standard will include an additional focus on top management buy-in and safety culture that organisations can work towards creating in anticipation of the final publication;

  • Worker participation
  • Continual improvement
  • Hierarchy of control
  • Risk management (and emergency management)
  • Compliance status
  • Contractors, procurement and outsourcing


Get our checklists

Request a quick quote

Contact Us

Want to speak to someone?

Contact Us

If you need more information and want answers to your questions call us, our friendly team will help.

Request a Quote

Get an obligation free quote tailored specifically to your business’s size and industry.